Board of Directors

The South Dakota Foundation for Medical Care's Board of Directors defines the mission and goals of the organization. Directors are elected to three-year terms and are limited to serving two consecutive terms. Elections typically occur in May or June of each year and one third of the Board is appointed annually.  The Board Compensation Chart is available for public disclosure. 


Matthew Stanley, DO
Avera Medical Group
University Psychiatry Associates of Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls, SD


Vice President

Mark Butterbrodt, MD
Horizon Health Care - Mission Community Health Center
Mission, SD


Clarissa Barnes, MD
Avera Medical Group - Pierre
Pierre, SD


Victoria Walker, MD
Good Samaritan Society
Sioux Falls, SD

Member at Large

Ms. Erica Peterson 
Chief Executive Officer
Sanford Health Medical Center Chamberlain
Chamberlain, SD

Board Members


Sylvia Anderson, MD
Faulkton Area Medical Center
Faulkton, SD

Jerome Bentz, MD
Avera Medical Clinic - Platte
Platte, SD

Alan Christensen, MD
Sanford Clinic - Watertown
Watertown, SD

Mr. Tom Clark
Chief Executive Officer
Avera Queen of Peace Hospital
Mitchell, SD

Mr. Nick Fosness
Avera Marshall County Healthcare Center
Britton, SD

Ms. LaVonne Gaspar
Medicare Beneficiary
Sioux Falls, SD

Mark Harlow, MD
Rapid City, SD



Thomas Groeger, MD
Lead/Deadwood Regional Medical Clinic
Deadwood, SD

Mr. L. Paul Jensen
Medicare Beneficiary
Dell Rapids, SD

Mr. Jason Merkley
Chief Executive Officer
Brookings Health System
Brookings, SD

Mr. Jeremy Schultes
Chief Executive Officer
Philip Health Services
Philip, SD

Mr. Dennis Sever
Wentworth, SD

Mr. Timothy Tracy
Chief Executive Officer
Sanford Vermillion Medical Center
Vermillion, SD